HELP! can't get inside door panels off my TJ

eNdiT

Does any Jeep enthusiast out there know how to remove the inside dorr panels from a 99' TJ? I tried and all that happened was the screws holding the inside door handle on fell down between the door...hahah

I am trying to remove the entire panel but can't figure it out? How do I get the window roller off and all that? Ahhhhhhhh

I'm a newbie.[addsig]

I have no exp. with TJ doors in particular but generally the window crank is held on with a c-clip that you have to push out before it comes off (bow the panel in a bit and poke it off the window crank shaft with a long screwdriver or two) The panel itself is usually held in place with several plastic anchors (there is a special tool for removal...but its not necessary). I would purchase new anchors as it is very easy to damage the plastic anchors during removal. There may be other steps necessary for removal....I am sure others will chime in with a more correct and condensed removal process.

FWIW,

Hoss
image-missing.png
[addsig]

quite true.....however the replacement process is quite a bit more challenging[addsig]

any door panel i've removed has been removing the screws and the window crank and pulling it off. just pull carefully.[addsig]

Some cranks have a c-clip that pops out and most common is the one where the center pops out and there is a philips head screw holding it in.[addsig]

*1997 TJ Full Door Panel Removal Process*
1. Put window all the way down
2. Remove C-Clip with long flat head screwdriver, careful not to lose
3. Remove two bottom screws from the bottom of the door, and one screw located near the door latch assembly
4. Loosen but do not remove the two screws that hold on your door handle. There is a metal clip on the back holding the screw. Do NOT lose.
5. Next remove six plastic retaining clips, Usually able to remove by hand, just place fingers under door panel and pull gently.