Just back from Iraq, and lookin to put some mone into my Jeep.\

Cadra

Since im brand new here let me introduce myself. Im an Airborne Infantryman stationed in Anchorage Alaska. Just got back from Iraq and I have saved up some significant spending money while i was over there. I was an entry level mechanic straight out of high school befor joining the army, so I know my way around a vehicle a little bit. Jus enough to get me in trouble basicly.

I have a 97 Jeep Wrangler. Its a 4 banger 5 speed, Now, I don't want this to be another "which is better" kind of post. OR start some huge debate. But I am looking for opinions, and to decide if im better off buying a new jeep or building this one. This Jeep has seen some pretty good offroading in Alaska where im stationed. Ive sunk it to the windshield in a riverbed, and nearly rolled it off a mountain.

So heres the run down. Im pretty sure I have a Dana 30 up front and a 35 in the rear. Im debating on swapping the lump for a 4.0, or 4.5 stroker. Maybe a stock v8, as im not sure about the reliabity of the stroker. I do Understand that the axles will need upgrading, with a lift and much stronger motor. And that I will need a high capacity radiator, and a converion kit for most v8s. Along with alot of unforeseen expenses.

My main concern at the moment, is im not sure what the power rating for the manual transmission is. And I don't know what transfer case I have. And im not sure about exact tolerances, gear ratios, and that sort of thing.

Other than that im kind of looking for referals to good resources and engine/axle builder and that kinda stuff. Im pretty much in a brainstorming phase at this momment.

Any help would be much appriciated guys thanks.

Welcome to Jeepz.com!