Total Newbie Questions...

LouKYGuy

Please bear with me here... remember, the only stupid questions are the ones unasked (or something like that).

I recently purchased an '01 Wrangler Sport, Dana 30 front, Dana 44 rear (with limited slip), 3.07 gears, and 15x7 Grizzly wheels w/ 225/75R15s Goodyears.

This is my only vehicle and therefore a daily driver. As my bank account permits, I'd like to start making a few mods so I can get out on the trails with the rest of you guys/gals.

I know I can fit 31's on the stock wheels and w/o a lift (I have a 1.5 yrs. left on the warranty and I'd like to keep it, so no lift kits yet) and 33" tires look damn expensive... so I'm sticking with 31's.

First questions is the axle gears... will the 3.07's be okay with 31" tires? I'd like to keep it as streetable as possible (gas mileage) but I realize the benefits of taller (?) gears. What would be a good middle-of-the-road set of gears?

Next is lockers. It's open in the front and limited slip in the rear. Would I be better off with a different differential (say that 3 times fast!) in the rear or stick with the factory unit? What about the front... I've heard that locking diffs in the front can make it hard to steer or it makes funky noises while turning... what's the deal there?

Thanks for any help.
[addsig]

Depending on your cash flow, I would leave most of your hard parts as they are. I was given the advice to run with what you have until you learn what you really need. I have an 83 CJ7 with 33's and 3in lift - really not enough if flexed hard. The TJ's as I am told are very capable in stock form. I would recommend some body armor for protection and some sway bar disconnects so you can let the suspension move while offroad but still have its street manners. Just check any 4by magazine or website for reviews and examples of items which will only improve your current setup. Don't forget safety and recovery tools.
[addsig]