new to jeeps....educated quesions from a novice.

fast_Z28_guy

1 245/75r/16 goodyear mt/r tire

hey guys, i was gonna post under my GF's screen name...she's new too...since she's the one who wants to buy a jeep. but i figured i would just create my own name. this way she can add her own information and views.
she wants a jeep...i'm the "car guy" so she wants me to help her research what to buy and what NOT to buy.

i'm new to jeeps other than driving a friends mid 90s jeep. i've got plenty of car experience. i've owned 3 camaros, an 87, 96 and now a 99. i've rebuilt suspension, installed a clutch and done some pretty in depth upgrades by myself. so wrenching is not new to me. my current ride, the 99z28 is pushing 400hp to the wheels :D

i'm also not new to message boards...been on a camaro board with nearly 50,000 members for about 8 yrs.

i went ahead and read the first 6 pages of the CJ YJ forum and have some questions. answer the ones you can. be as simple or specific as you want. i'll figure it out.

1 - what is the difference between the CJ, YJ and TJ?? is it just like the "generation" of the jeep? like 82-92 camaros are 3rd gens, and 93+ are 4th gens? or is it something more in depth?

for the techincal stuff...this is going to be a daily driver. no real offroad stuff (no moutains in florida...just mud), possibly towing a small boat (if i ever buy one)

2 - was reading a post about reinforcing the frame. i know sub-frame connectors make a huge differnce on the camaros, but they have unibody construction. the post mentioned reinforcing the steering box mount. i understand how having wider tires can increase the stress on the mount. is this a common problem? is there a simple fix? i know this was common to the early 80s camaros/firebirds and they sold a "wonderbar" that mounted behind the steering box to strenghten it. anything similar with the jeep?