Opinions on this Jeep... It could be my first. '95 with 58k.

Conrad906

Im a Jeep noob still searching for my first. this one looks like a pretty good deal (minus a few bucks). I'm really in love with the idea of an earlier Wrangler that hasn't been modified, has low miles, and hasn't seen the trail.

I can't link to it because Jeepz.com wont let me since I haven't posted 5 times. I'll give you the specs and the autotrader.com id# so ya'll can check it out if you want. AutoTrader ID: AT-10D7976E

1995, garage stored standard 4cyl. 58k. Never been in mud. Red with grey interior. Black soft top.

This is for a second vehicle and gonna be used just to mess around with. No commuting, and at this point, no real offroading. My questions are: What should I look for as far as problems with older Jeeps are concerned. Any tell-tale signs? What about this year model? Any problems specific to the 1995 models? And, What are your opinions of this particular jeep?

Thoughts?

if your good with it being a four cylinder, just check for rust

The 95 is a pretty good year for a Jeep; you get the better engine (MPFI, etc.) with the simplicity of leaf springs (if you want to lift it, leaf springs are simpler than coils, although they are also a bit harsher once you lift them). Things to look for is mostly rust in the tup (look under the Jeep).

Now, as far as the engine goes, the 4-banger is an extremely reliable engine. It is also a very good engine for offroading. Where it really lacks power is at highway speeds, especially on a lifted Jeep.

As far as things that tend to act up on this jeep, I would say the most common are:
Rust (check around where the body sits on the frame)
The transmission, but if the Jeep is not modded, I doubt it will have any issues
The vacuum servo for the front axle disconnect (easy to bypass or eliminate and only affects for 4WD)