Weak Valve Spring ('97 G. Cherokee)

myunghong

My '97 Grand Cherokee has 'Check Engine' light on, and I took it back to the dealer ship and naturally got ripped-off. Ever since then I do everything by myself.

Anyway, the 'Check Engine' light came back on again, and someone told me it could be my valve not closing completely due to weak value springs. Over a period of the time, it has been that way, and carbon might have built up.

It is so bad, I can't even accelerate on a 5% slope with my 4.0L engine.

I am thinking about replacing the springs and possibly the valves as well.

I have no experience with this kind of major work, and I would like to do it in my garage.

Any advise?

Yes, I am planning to get a manual and all necessary tools.

Please help
image-missing.png

Thanks.

Myung[addsig]

I´m not going to say impossible, but I will say unlikely. Broken valve spring maybe, if it was a manufacturing flaw or something. Weak springs come into play usually at very high RPM.

With the trouble light coming on, I´d be looking at a faulty sensor or fuel supply (mid ninty XJ´s have a rep for bad fuel pumps).

Jedi.com has a list of diagnostic codes and how to retrieve them. I believe it will work on the 97.

If the trouble codes turn out negative, I´ll talk you through a compression test and a valve leak down test, before you start tearing the motor down.

http://www.jedi.com/obiwan/jeep/dtc.html[addsig]

i beleive you can check for bad valve seals by pulling off the oil fill cap and putting your hand over the hole while the engine is running (oil won't come flying out don't worry). if air is pushing up through your fingers, then your valves aren't sealing fully.[addsig]

O.K. Nate,

I have tried your advise, and don't fell any air coming out of the oil fill cap.

Chuck,