Newbie to JEEPZ!

lmahfouz

:???:Hey guys im new to jeeps. My first one is a 09 Wrangler X. I was putting it into 4wd drive last night when it got stuck in 4lo and know my transfer shifter is moving freely without catching anything. Someone said it could either be my shifter is loose and another guy said it could be the transfer cable or bushing... how do i get to my transfer box to see whats wrong???

Wouldn't even know where to start on that.........get it up on jack-stands and start looking. If you can get it into neutral, put it on a trailer and take it to a shop. If it's a cable or something it may still be under warranty.

lay under the trans and look up. sounds like your shifter came unhooked. look about where hte shifter is for something not hooked up

SuperJ has got it but if you reach up from the front of the transfer case you can feel the shifter rod and input arm on the transfer you can shift the transfer back into 2HI from down there and then take it to the dealer or your favorite mechanic and have them adjust the shifter linkage or tell you if it is broken.

***Please note set the "E" brake before you attempt this since shifting the transfer case into neutral will allow your jeep to move if its sitting on a incline.***

If it's a cable or something it may still be under warranty.

Its a 09 so that's doubtful

SuperJ has got it but if you reach up from the front of the transfer case you can feel the shifter rod and input arm on the transfer you can shift the transfer back into 2HI from down there and then take it to the dealer or your favorite mechanic and have them adjust the shifter linkage or tell you if it is broken.

***Please note set the "E" brake before you attempt this since shifting the transfer case into neutral will allow your jeep to move if its sitting on a incline.***

X2