84 XJ diffs into 90 YJ?

gulkster

Hi there,
I am very new at Jeeps, and marginally skilled at "back-yard" mechanics (the internet is a friend). I can't seem to find anywhere if the diffs from an '84 cherokee (XJ) would fit into my '90 YJ. They both have Dana 30/35 setup, but are there any differences that would make them unusable in the YJ? Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I see Dana 30s have many different incarnations, and I don't know the ins and outs as it were, of how interchangeable they are. Thank you in advance for any help. I will need install kits I'm sure, just want to make sure everything will "mesh" (sorry, that was uncalled for).

p.s. I am interested in this as I want to change my stock 3.07s with the 4.10s or 4.56s that should be in this XJ vehicle. I just don't want to waste the sellers time, nor my own. Thanks again.
Jamie

The internals should fit. The housings are different. The xj is coil front susp and and the rear is spring over axle not like the spring under of the yjs.

Here's some info I found on XJ ratios:

3.07 - used with 4.0L engine / manual transmission
3.31 - only available on older (pre87?) 2 door XJs with "Fuel Economy" package
3.55 - used with 4.0L engine / automatic transmission
3.73 - found in some XJs with the towing package
4.10 - used with 2.5L engine usually, and older XJs with the "Off-Highway Vehicle" package.
Source: jeephorizons.com

No mention of anything lower than 4.10...

I, too, had 3.07s in my YJ (89 6cyl/auto) so I swapped axles with a 94 YJ (4cyl/manual) that had 4.10s

jeep hasn't put deep gears into factory axles since the motors made more than 75 hp.

Your swap is simply not worth it, in the end your gonna have to fab up new perches for the front and swap the rear to the bottom of the axle shaft. Look for a 87-89 XJ for the rear D44 or an 95-00 exporer 8.8. both stronger axles.