Axle oil drip?

Jakeyonedrop

I was looking underneath my jeep the other day and noticed that there was an oil drip coming off of the spring mount on the axle housing. I assumed it was some sort of bad seal within the axle and it was dripping down. Otherwise, where would oil be coming from? Anyone have any ideas?

[addsig]

is it from the front or rear axle. they both have seals in them. the rear axles are more prone to leaking. check the back of your brake backing plate and or pull the drum. if you have noticed the brakes grabbing it could be cause you got fluid on the shoes.[addsig]

im not really good at describing how to do it. i just do it. you have to get the hub off and down to the brake backing plate. the seals at the end of the axle. pick up a chiltons and it will get more descriptive as to the how. its not that bad to do ,about the hardest part is getting the hub off. i used a puller.[addsig]

:-D I could be a bad wheel cylinder from your drum brakes. Mine were leaking all over the inside of my rear wheel. Just an possibility. Good luck with the investigation! :-D [addsig]

akeyonedrop,

sounds like your rear cyls are leaking. easy to distinguish the brake fluid from the rear gear oil - gear oil is real thick and smelly (i like it, though) while brake fluid is not nearly as bad smelling and much thinner.

if it's the rear axle seals, that would mean that your diff is getting low (or already is low) on gear oil - real bad if you consider how much a set of pinions will cost you compared to a set of brakes.

there are three possible places the gear oil is escaping from: the axle seal, the diff cover or a crack in the axle housing.