Career Change? Any of you do it?

mingez

Hello all, I'm going thru a "What does it all mean" phase, and am going thru some personal changes. (this is hard for me to talk about) But I'm looking for a change....a career change. I'm 31, and wondering what I want to be when I grow up. (which BTW is atleast another 10+ years in the future)

So, let me give you all some background....

I went to school for Broadcast Communications. I was a comm/anthro double major and received my Bachelor's degree. (which essentially qualifies you to become a fry cook at any of the finest Wendy's in the US)

Now, I'm a General Manager for a furniture store, and while I like the money, I'm soooo dissatisfied with the personal satisfaction I get from my job. (I know, you are all groaning and saying "everyone is dissatisfied with that") That may be true, but I need more.

I loved working the Television and Film industry, but the pay sucks unless you get the right gig, and the people are jerks.

So NOW, I'm looking for a change...

Here are my criteria for what constitutes "Satisfying" job characteristics:
1. Creativity
2. Helping people - I have a strong urge in this area.
3. Finished product-I wanna be happy at the end of the day with what I've done or made.
4. Fun - I've gotta have fun. But #3's criteria trumps this...so if at the end of the day, I've helped people and am proud of the accomplishments achieved, then I can sacrifice some fun. That's what weekends are for.
5. Money. I've gotta eat. If I'm in SF in 6 months, I'd need to make a bear minimum of 45K to live like most do at 26K.

Other important factors: Job Marketplace, and schooling. I'm expecting to go back either for a Certification or AS, but another BS/BA/Master's are out of the question at this point. At least, unless my employer will incur the costs of education.

I know what you are thinking, "Take a career assessment exam"...I did.

Here were the results:
Radiation Technologist
NucMed
Nursing
IT
Desktop Publishing