cherokee long ARM build

desertrunner

Sooo I've been doing a lot of research on building my own long ARM system. Ive been fabricating for about 4 years now and am working towards my getting a welding cert in LA. I figure I can do it pretty easy.

I plan building the generic 'y' link style radius arms using 2" OD .250 wall tube for the main lower arms with johnny joints and poly bushings from poly performance. And the upper arms will be 1.5" OD .120 wall ( mainly cause I have 20+ feet sitting in my yard) not quite sure what style of joint I should use for these arms where they connect to the lower arms.. I know I want it adjustable so I can set my pinion angle. I have some 3/4x7/8 Heims sitting around. Could I use those or would I want some kind of poly bushing so it could flex?

for the frame brackets I have several 8 foot pieces 3x3 angle made from quarter inch plate. I'm hope to build them similur to rustys clamping style brackets. I'll keep the stock transmission crossmember but I'll make the brackets extra long to make sure it spreads the force out. Weld some good tabs made of 1/4 plate to those brackets to mount the arms to.

Paint everything black and stick it all together with grade 8 hardware.

All said and done I think I'm looking at under 300 bucks to build them... Much better than the 600+ everyone wants...

So I've read through several other forums and threads on the subject and I think I've got most everything.. including making them the right length so it meets the bumpstops where they should. If I'm missing anything please tell me. Ide hate to have to figure it out on my own after doing it wrong..

Thanks in advance for any help!

One final thought. If it works out real well ill be building the same thing for my cousins Cherokee... After that and I have the kinks worked out and I have some jigs built would anyone be interested in a set for around 450 bucks? Getting married soon and would love to make some extra cash