Rear sound help!!!!

jdmuncy

Ok guys here's one for you. I am new to jeeps and am lovin my 1988 yj project. Here's my problem today I was driving it and there was a mysterious sound coming from the passenger side rear. Jeep shook a little almost like a tire rubbing but it wasn't my question is what is making that sound? It does happen all the time just sporadically. Please help!!

Taco Bell and your Passenger.

Are you in four wheel drive when this happens?
Pulling out or at speed?

Does in 4 wheel and 2 wheel. Yes at speed. Happens on and off. To me seems when i turn is when it happens. If I am goin straight it doesn't happen

If it was u joint it would be more or a klickin sound with a vibration. Or dose it sound something like holdin a metal bowl on a table and running a metal spoon on the in side hard. Pull your tire off on the side u think it coming from and just try to pull your axle in and out try to see how much play is in your rear end. U can do this with your tier on but I can check other thing wile its off.

Give me a second to put a foot in my mouth yeah check the u joint to lol

Occam's Razor- the simplest explanation is usually better than the complex ones....sure u checked them already but if not check your wheel bearings....always go simplest and cheapest first.

Jack up that wheel and spin it.

I fought a sound like that for 6 months. Was very intermittent. Ended up being rocks that would get stuck in my tire tread.

Ok here's an update. I took the wheels off and did a little exploring. Then took out on another road test to pin point the problem. It only makes the noise/shake in 4H. Works good in 2H and 4L. Any ideas??