Transmission Qs

WhostheFNG

Hey guys, I am totally new to the Jeep thing. So new that I don't even have a Jeep yet!ha

I am in the market for a CJ7 and have been doing as much research on the internet as I can. I don't plan on turning my future CJ into a rock crawler but I would like to have a nice trail rig. Something I can drive to the trail, through the trail and back home. Probably drive to work a few days a week as well. I hear the 4.2L I6 is a solid motor and I would like to stay that route. I'm not planning on putting anything bigger then 33 inch tires. I will have to take highways to get to these trails.

So, my question is what transmission should I be looking for? I hear the T5 is POS? How about the T176 4 speed? I am currently eyeing a 1980 CJ7 4.2L I6 w/ 4 speed manual transmission. Assuming it has the Dana 300 Tcase. I want the most dependable transmission that comes with the rig. Don't really wanna swap things around and MPG isn't to big of a concern.

Any insight or guidance would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance,

The New Guy

P.S. I grew up a Ford guy and I am really trying not to push that Bronco button even though I've had one before and I loved it! Tell me I'm gonna enjoy a CJ!haha

I have the T-176 on my 81 CJ7 that came with the Dana300 from the factory. Originally came with an AMC 304 V8 but have been transplanted with an AMC 360 V8. I haven't had any issues with the transmission with this setup. The t.case is pretty tough to beat..

I had an 85 CJ7 for years, and the motor / transmission never gave me issues. My only problem offroading was my poorly tuned / dirty stock carter carb - I could never permanently fix that carb. It seemed to need tinkering and cleaning every year.